Mrs. Perfection

Motherhood was my epiphany. It is what changed me ultimately, changed me from the type-A person that I was once.

Okay. I’m lying. Kind of.

Motherhood has made me take a bit more easy-breezy personality when it comes to life’s uh-ohs and tough moments and poop on the sofa, but that woman that I once was, Mrs. Perfection. Yeah, she’s still there, too.

She doesn’t come out all of the time. But, she does come out when she can.

She came out this this morning when I was reviewing my posts from previous on this blog. She cringed at a spelling error.I know. This is a blog of five minute, unedited posts. It’s a lovely idea in theory, but in actuality it’s tough.

It’s tough to read your mistakes. To lay them bare and to know that others can see them.

It’s tough to make mistakes and not go back and fix them as soon as they happen so that no one else can be quick enough to acknowledge them as such.

Perfection.

I don’t want to be perfect, but, sometimes, it’s nice to give the illusion. Not to others but mainly myself.

Mrs. Perfection.

Do you ever struggle with a desire to be perfect? Please tell me I’m not the only one. Please.

 

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mrs. Perfection

  1. You’re definitely NOT the only one who struggles with perfection! I’m constantly working to accept that there will not be a “perfect” day in way of getting everything done on my to-do list or having everything just the way I want it. I’m trying to appreciate how perfect life is for other reasons–the little moments. It’s a process for sure!

  2. GG says:

    You are SO not the only one. This is me all day: “I don’t want to be perfect, but, sometimes, it’s nice to give the illusion. Not to others but mainly myself.”

  3. Mellisa says:

    I always think that I have given up that part of my personality but it’s never gone completely. I have to constantly remind myself to let it go. It’s not that big of a deal. In the long run what will it matter.

    • I do the same! I will say that before having kids, I would allow my imperfections to really get me down. I allowed them to define the woman I thought I saw when I looked in the mirror. Motherhood has made me better in accepting that I am not perfect, but, yeah, you’re right, it takes some reminding to remember this. 😉

  4. Kiddothings says:

    I try not to be a perfectionist but I am sometimes with certain things. Heck I can’t even stand a spelling error in my comments!

  5. you are so not alone. my ms. perfection comes out at the most in-oportune times, mostly when i’m stressed about anything. it’s work to keep her mouth shut!

  6. Adriel Booker says:

    Oh yes, oh yes. Perfectionism is a thief. One I’m constantly trying to lock out of the house!! But she’s a sneaky thief!!

    By the way, I’m going to start a little network. I think I’m going to call it the Five Minutes to Click network and have a page on CC5 to link yours and Melissa’s and others that join. I would allow people to join who want to do it daily like us, but also others who want to do it weekly or whatever. (A few blog friends of mine are “experimenting” and writing some five-minute posts here and there…) What do you think?

    • Jessica says:

      That sounds great! I would love to join, just let me know when to link up! Will you have a code so that we can also add the network link on our pages?

Come on, join in the fun!

