Why the mommy wars exist

The best part of being a mommy, the sweetest parts, happen when I’m happy.

When I’m happy with myself, my place in my family and in my society, that’s when I can fully experience the sweet, beautiful parts.

When I’m not happy, well, then, seeing the beautiful parts in my own journey becomes hard, I realize, so I began looking for the beautiful parts in others’ journeys.

Why do the mommy wars exist?

They exist, I’m convinced, because there are a lot of moms out there who are not happy. They’re not happy with their own lives, with their own choices.

I say this not as a judgmental mom who think she knows the truth of every mom out there, but as a mom who has judged another mom because I felt unhappy, insecure within my own journey.

My journey, the one I walk, and define as my normal is not perfect. I don’t always get recipes right. I don’t always talk in the sweetest of tones when disciplining my toddler. I have spanked my child.

But, my journey, is my own. Imperfectly.

I’m a stay at home because I chose to be, not because my husband thought it would be good for me or our family or because I wanted to be “that” mom that I admire in my neighborhood.

My choices are what define my journey. And, should I ever be unhappy with my choices, I’ve learned that I must look within rather than outward. I must be critical of myself not other moms who chose differently than me.

Stop.

Why do you think the mommy wars exist?

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

