My voice

When I began writing online, I thought I had it all figured out.

Online, I would use my voice, the same voice that carried me through my professional career and through graduate school.

My voice was, I thought, witty, sarcastic, but deeply personal.

It was, I thought, unchanging.

It was, I thought, endearing.

It was singular.

It was my voice.

I realize now in hearing more of the intonations in my voice online and offline that I was mostly wrong about this.

Yes, I do have a voice.

But, in having to write daily that like the waves, and in having my voice read by others, I realize that my voice is not of just one solid note.

It’s fluid, plural.

I have many voices that define my one voice.

Voice is not, I realized in doing this, something that always can be constant or unchanging.

It breathes, I believe, and lives within these pages, both metaphorical and literal.

My voice doesn’t always sound right to my ear.

My voice doesn’t always speak in a language that I can readily understand.

My voice is still becoming. Always becoming.

My voice is still in training. Always training.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

