i am king

As I write this, Sara Bareilles’ “King of Anything” plays in the background.

I dig this song, I think. It has a catchy beat and her voice is pretty and, well the message is nice.

My daughter plays in the distance, with, likely the MAC red lipstick that I bought a week ago but haven’t yet.

I watch her without really watching her, reflecting on the words of Sara’s song (yes, Sara, we’re on a first name basis).

“Who died and made you king of anything?”

This my truth, yeah, this song is my song.

Sso I turn it up a little louder than the SOUND of the noisy washing machine upstairs and my own thoughts on what. I. must. do. next.

I am king.

Yeah, that’s right.

I am king.

Not queen, but king.

“Yes, I’m king,” I say aloud.

My toddler’s staring at mama now.

I wish she could get this.

I hope she gets this from me.

That we are our own kings.

That no one else, their opinions, their insecurities, all of that doesn’t matter.

Lesson for my girls, for sure. And, for me.

I am king.

I need a t-shirt with that message.

I’m holding my crown, adorned in jewels, gold, diamonds, and other beautiful things that I’ve acquired and been blessed with in these past years of my life.

And, in holding that crown with both hands.

I am king over my pen, my words, my life.

And, this is power. Beautiful. Sweet. Power.

STOP.

Are you king in your life? If not, what’s holding you back? Really.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

