“Round, mama”

“Picture, mama.” “Picture, mama,” she says holding the camera with both her small hands. “Picture, mama.”

Today, this morning, was supposed to be the day that I get more serious with posting here at the same time each day.

“It’s just five minutes after all,” I kept telling myself. “I can do this in five minutes.”

“Picture, mama,” she says grabbing at my hands and pleading with me to pose for the camera.

I needed to write this or something for five minutes.

I needed to do this so that I could check it off my growing list of things to do this morning, but I knew I couldn’t do this thing I felt I wanted (or, needed) to do.

My plans changed. We took pictures instead and I wrote this post later.

I wrote after picture time and after we danced to 80s tunes.

“Round, mama.” “Round, mama,” her way of asking that I grab her by the arms and twirl her body around in circles in our small living room.

I acquiesce and in doing so I forget. I forget about my own plans. I forget about my to do list.

I enjoy that moment. I’m in that moment, spinning, laughing, and enjoying that moment.

How have your children changed your plans today?

 

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

