slow down

I find that when I am most busy, when I have a million and one things in my head about what I must get done, I rush.

I rush my meals, my writing, my phone calls, the time spent with my children, the time spent preparing dinner, the time spent…breathing.

And, in rushing, I panic about not goign fast enough, about the time I don’t have and that I need in order to.get.it.all.done.

This week, I’ve been very busy, preparing for a second birthday party. I’ve been baking (and re-baking cupcakes).

I’ve been making and re-making birthday banners.

I’ve been writing guest posts and articles and responding to emails…

…and showering.

…and eating.

…and dealing with a baby with a cold.

…and doing all the other things that come with my normal plate of motherhood and parenting.

And, this time, or this week, I’ve often felt stressed, like I didn’t have enough time so I would go through the motions of my life…fast.

But, in the midst of going super duper fast, I’ve also been slowing down.

Yes, with a million and one things to do, rather than going faster and faster and stressing about what I can’t get done and need to get done, I  slow…down.

I take my time. I s breathe. I am mindful of my actions and live within these meoments of craziness as they happen in my life.

So, here I am writing. And, the cake isn’t made, nor has the spaghetti menu been really thought out, but that’s okay. I am writing now. And, while I am doing this, I am in this.

I’m slowing down in all of five minutes.

Stop.

How do you stay focused and avoid being stressed when life seems to be insanely busy?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

