i’m no betty crocker, but….

I am not much of a baking person. I don’t even own a full set of measuring cups. But, I  do enjoying baking.

When I was a vegan, I  began to bake a lot, mainly because my diet was so restrictive that it was hard to find “acceptable” baked goods that a)didn’t taste like cardboard and b) that fit my strict ingredient list.

So, then I baked a lot. I baked cookies and cakes and pies and anything else I could think of using my favorite ingredients.

But, when I stopped being a vegan, I stopped baking as much. I bought my goodies from stores and restaurants and didn’t think twice about the ingredient list or anything else, well, except taste.

But, then, I became a mom two years ago. And, with that, I started baking again.

I baked valentines cookies the week I learned I was pregnant and banana walnut bread when in April and gingerbread cookies in December, and for my toddler’s birthday today, I made cupcakes.

Chocolate cupcakes. From scratch.

Now, I’m no Betty Crocker, but my cupcakes turned out great this time around.

A week ago, it was my plan to buy $3 Georgetown cupcakes for the occasion. But, at the last minute, and feeling like I had to do it, I made cupcakes scratch. Not out of the box which would have saved me 20 minutes of my life but from scratch using a recipe I found online. And my mom made vanilla cupcakes.

And the cupckaes I made were good and people ate them and didn’t gag, and, and, I did it.

Yay, me!

Stop.

Are you much of a baker? What are some of your favorite baked goods?

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

