venturing down the off-beaten path of…my to-do list

I have a terrible memory that’s been made worse by motherhood. Okay, I’m lying, at least in part.

My memory really isn’t that bad, but given the amount of things that I have to do on any given day, the amount of things that are unplanned for, I forget things.

I forget to call my 90 year-old grandma. I know. That doesn’t like a big dael. But, if I say I’m going to call her and don’t one day or the next day or the next month or the next month, well, things can get hairy and she gets older and I feel more and more guilty about not doing that thing I said I would have so long ago that she’s probably forgotten about it.

So, to help me remember to do the things that I say I will do, I have a to-do list. It’s a list, usually written on random pieces paper around the house at the start of my day. On that list is everything, and I mean everything, that I need to do, must do, and want to do on any given day. I don’t include parenting tasks because well, things, like “give your kid a bath,” are usually a given. But, I do have things on there like “check your email” or “remember to call mom” or “write blog post” or “do eyebrows.” I know, that last one is pretty sad, but honestly, things like that are the first to slip through the cracks of my life when I’m too busy with other more “pressing” matters.

And, when I check something off of my to-do list, it’s a big deal worth celebrating. Well, not really celebrating with balloons and confetti, but mentally celebrating with an “You go girl!” Okay. That sounded really 90s. So, I apologize in advance.

So, where was I? Oh yes, my to-do list. I like checking things off of it, but I’ve learned that it’s important that I go with the flow. Sometimes, like today, I can’t get to everything on my list. My toddler was sick today, so she needed me more and my baby’s napping schedule has been wacky. So, today, I went with the flow and in doing so, I got nothing accomplished. But I did enjoy the view from the off-beaten path of my to-do list. I know. It sounds so fabulous, doesn’t it?And it really is.

Stop.

Do you have a a to-do list? Do you find that it helps you stress less about what needs to get done in a day?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to venturing down the off-beaten path of…my to-do list

  1. Great post! to do lists are sooo necessary! I don’t know where I would be without mine otherwise.

    • Jessica says:

      Yes, they are! Along with forgetting things, I can be a bit of a procrastinator, so to-do lists help me immensely. And, I love to check things off my list.

Come on, join in the fun!

