if i lived in the city

I’ve always been described as an old soul. In high school, I wore turtle necks and triangle leg jeans. I never attended a basketball game or football game in college and I have never drank alcohol or smoked in my life.

Okay, I guess more than making me an old soul, the above examples and many others would make me “boring” to most.

I play it safe in life. I got married at 22, and because I wanted to. I got straight A’s in college because it was a “goal” of mine. I had my first kid three days after my 27th birthday.

I moved to the suburbs with my first house because it was “Safe.” I live in the suburbs now because in living here I feel safe. And even though i’m sure those hip city-goers look down on people like me, people like me who don’t have a yoga studio within walking distance, who drive to the grocery story, who think a trip to the mall is a fun time, but this is my life.

And, I like my life as a suburbanite. But, but, I sometimes wish I lived in the city.

I sometimes wish that I didn’t need to think about needing a backyard for my kids or a “good” school district for my kids.

Sometimes, I wish i had a yoga studio to walk to, that i could run in traffic and live in cramped living corners because I can.

sometimes, I wish I lived a life that most people my age seem to be living.

But, then, I think about me. Not the me I sometimes think i would have been if I didn’t have kids until my mid 30s. But me.

City life is not me. And, as much as I never thought I’d say this, the life I lead, this suburban life with the browning yard and lots of kids and no career to call my own, that’s me.

I marvel in this place. I love this place.

Stop.

So, which is it for you, city living or suburban living? What images come to your mind when you think of these two realities?

 

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to if i lived in the city

  1. Adriel Booker says:

    Oh, I looooong to live in the city! So much so! Even if I were to live in a suburb of a city, that would make me happy. RIght now we live in a town of about 200,000. Though it’s nice, and not a “small town”, I miss having the variety of the city at my disposal. I’d move in a heartbeat if we felt it was right! Maybe someday? Or maybe not. Time will tell!!

  2. Jessica says:

    Yeah. I hear ya on that, Adriel. I guess you could say that I live in a suburb of a city, but the city feels light years away. (It’s 30 minutes away) Maybe someday. Maybe someday. 🙂

Come on, join in the fun!

