my photography hobby

I don’t think I really had any hobbies before I had children.

I assumed they were a waste of time. They were things that people did when they had exhausted getting anything tangible for their talents.

I didn’t have a hobby then. No, then I did “important” things. Then, I worked. And, I was paid for my work. I did dinners with friends and danced and listened to music and cooked recipes that promised to be good.

Then, everything I did had to have a promise of something else better in return. It was the exchange of something better that drove me to study more, to stay at work long hours, to read more. Now? Now, I’ve come to realize that some of the best things in life are done without the expectation of anything in return.

Writing is something that I’d consider a hobby. It’s something that I do (and would continue to do) whether I got a paycheck for it or not.

Photography is something else that I’d consider a hobby. I got a DSLR camera last year, in January I believe. In the year since getting my camera, I learned my hobby by doing, I took pictures of plants, my daughter, and beautiful landscapes. In recent months, however, I’ve been studying the craft of photography. I won a subscription to a photography site, so every night, I devote an hour of study there.

I study there with heavy eyes after my writing is done and my children are asleep because I truly want to get better at photography just for the sake of taking beautiful pictures. I don’t want a photography business or to become the national photographer of the year (if there is such an award). I just want to take beautiful pictures. To get better at this. To enjoy this.

Stop.

Do you have any hobbies? How do you make time for them in your life and explain them to others?

 

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

