remembering my friends

Since becoming a mom, I’ve struggled with remembering to keep in touch with my friends in real life. Well, correction, I do keep in touch with my friends who have children, but it takes more thought on my part to remember my childless friends, too.

My children take up such a huge part of my life, so when I think about my life, they are always in the picture. So, friends with children enter the picture more easily. But, I love and value my childless friends, too, because they remind me of what I once was and who I am and was when I didn’t have my children.

So, this year, in 2012, I’ve made it a goal to nourish my relationships with those I love. To this end, I’ve been returning emails (at least within a week). I’ve been returning phone calls and listening to my voicemail messages. I’ve been making plans to hang out on weekends.

This Sunday, I will be spending time with a dear friend who I haven’t seen in months. And, I’m excited about this. I’m excited about spending time with her and not having to tug along a diaper bag. I’m excited about talking about something other than my kids or baby products or poop.

Friends.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve come to realize the value of my friendships. They are, in many ways, like plants, plants that you must feed and tend to in order for them to grow. I want to grow more relationships this year. I want to nourish the friendships I have and to keep them close.

Stop.

Have your views towards friendships changed with age/children/other life circumstances? How do you nourish your friendships?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

