some men can cook

Growing up, my mom did mostly all of the cooking in our house. She made the standards that most Americans grow up on, or Spaghetti and Meatballs, Chicken, Spaghetti and Meatballs, Chicken… and…Did I already say Spaghetti and Meatballs? Yeah?

Okay. Well, we didn’t have much variety in our house. And as a child that used to bother me. “Mom, why can’t you make fun foods like so-so-so’s mom.”

I get now, as a mom, why variety isn’t always something that home cooks with four children and dirty laundry and dishes can (or want) to aspire to, but then, I didn’t get that.

So my mom cooked and cleaned and my dad went to work and watched Sci Fi movies and…worked.

My dad, did cook for us, too, however. On some rare occasions, or when my mom was sick or busy with something else, he did cook. What he made wasn’t the best. Usually it was soggy eggs or overcooked store bought pizzas or undercooked french fries. That was my dad. He couldn’t really cook.

So I assumed from my dad that all men couldn’t cook. I assumed that all men, unless trained professionally, couldn’t fuly cook eggs or fries.

But my husband isn’t that kind of man. My husband has been making dinner a lot these days, mainly because he enjoys it and to give me a break. So today he made dinner. And it was good. Really good.

So from him i’ve learned something. I’ve learned that some men can cook (when they want to).

STOP.

Who does the cooking in your home? And why?

This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

