just 5 minutes

In the first few weeks of having this blog, i think I had a “blog identity crisis.” (If there is such a thing.) I couldn’t really make sense of why I started this blog in the first place. I didn’t feel like it made sense to write here when I also write elsewhere online.

But through continuing on with writing for 5 minutes a day, in spite of my own doubts of the worth 5 minutes of writing, I realized the purpose, the good, the value of this blog for me as a writer.

5 minutes isn’t a lot. But 5 minutes a day of writing seems like A LOT when you really, really don’t want to do it. But when you do it, it’s like running that extra mile. You feel so much better afterwards.

I have learned that in 5 minutes I can say something, that I have things to say that are, sometimes, worthwhile.

I have found that in writing here for 5 minutes a day, I find it easier to write elsewhere.  I am able to say more and not be afraid, while writing, of what I’m saying.

I suffer from less writer’s blocks.

In just 5 minutes a day, I think I’m becoming a better writer.

And that’s what makes this blog worth it to me.

This is an exercise, this writing for 5 minutes daily.

STOP.

Have you tried writing for 5 minutes a day? If you have, what have you gained through the activity?

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to just 5 minutes

  1. Adriel @ CC5 says:

    mmmmm, that makes me happy. 🙂

    i’m also really loving it. 9 days out of 10 at least. 😉 and finding it’s really good for me and helping to change my perspective. not “i’m going to be a writer” but “i am a writer” and this is one of the ways i’m pushing myself to grow. (and enjoy writing–unpressured–too!)

    (is ‘unpressured’ a word? ha!)

  2. Jessica says:

    Ha! I think it (unpressured) is a word. I think. (Or, maybe not, it’s outlined in red on my computer. 😉 Oh, well, I get what you’re saying.) I feel the same way. And you stated that well. This activity is what I’m doing because, as I tell myself, I am a writer and I do want to grow, to get better. I can’t wait to look back at this year and read all of my writings here and your writings at CC5 to see just how far we’ve come! 🙂

Come on, join in the fun!

