something domestic

I never really imagined myself as a someday domestic.

When I was in college and pursuing my degree in English, I thought I’d be a teacher, or maybe a writer, or maybe PR professional. Honestly I didn’t know what I was going to be with a degree in English but with my degree in English I felt I needed to “shoot” for the stars, or the most high paying job I could according to that online “salary calculator” I found as a Junior.

And I was shooting for a different version of the stars after college. But then motherhood happened to me and my plan to “shoot” for the stars as a professional changed. Now, I am a mom who works in her home as a mom/familial CEO/house cleaner/interior decorator/wife/and…

I assume a lot of roles in this role that I currently occupy. And while some may not value the work that I do here, I do, and usually I can see the value of my work to this moment in my current life.

Usually, I can see beyond what society may think of my domestic work and value my work as valuable because it really is. I can cook decent meals and clean carpets and …. Hold on. Did I really just count “carpet cleaning” as one of my skills? Geez, that sounds so small, so unimportant in the grand scheme of “real” life. But it really is a skill I have now that I didn’t before becoming a domestic…person. Really!

STOP.

How do you stay mindful of your value if you aren’t directly contributing to “normal” society?

This entry was posted in Life, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

