writing routines

I think the one thing that has most helped me in being able to continue writing as a mom of two is creating writing routines. For this blog, for instance, I write at night, when my girls are tucked in their beds and I can finally sit down for five minutes to reflect. For my other blog, I sometimes write at night but usually I write on weekends or during the day, during naptimes (if I have enough energy).

The point of creating routines for me as a writer is creating habits to make my writing processes easier. I don’t have as much time to write as I did when I had one kid, and still don’t have nearly as much time as I did when I had no kids, but somehow, I’m writing more.

It’s not that my life is any more interesting now either. I say this because one of the reasons I’d convince myself as to why I couldn’t write was because “I don’t have anything to say.” But we all do have something to say. We all live lives that even if the most mundane are worthy of the written word.

So, I write about my little bits here and larger stuff at my other blog not because I have so much profound crap in my life, or not because I have more profound stuff than I did as a single mom, but because I now have writing routines that make the process of writing about my “crap” a whole lot more easy (or easier, I always get the one wrong).

So, to sum things up since I have an extra minute, the best thing that you can do as a write who doesn’t feel as though you have enough time to write is to create writing routines. Get into the habit of writing and soon it will come second-nature. I think.

Stop.

Do you have a writing routine? When do you find that you write best/easiest?

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to writing routines

  1. Hi! I’ve just nominated you for the Versatile Blog Award because I’ve enjoyed your blog so much. I said your blog is: As her blog says “5 minutes of daily writing in the raw” which I find inspiring. I like to imagine we’re talking over coffee as I read her blog.

    I hope you have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    Oh, thank you! This means so much!! And I feel so honored!! 🙂 I’m off to check out the award now!! I hope you enjoy your weekend, too!

Come on, join in the fun!

