why do weekends end so soon?

I know. Why ask. But really. Why do weekends end so soon? When I was in school, I always dreaded Sundays because they led to Mondays and Mondays meant waking up early, going to classes, and doing that again and again until Friday. And when I worked, I did pretty much the same thing. I dreaded Sundays, particularly Sunday evenings, because they came before my Mondays of rush hour traffic, office chatter, computer screen staring, meetings (Oh, how I hated those meeting), and doing it all over again.

I’m a stay at home mom now, so my Sundays are more enjoyable than they used to be, but still, I do sometimes get that feeling in the pit of my stomach at the end of a beautiful Sunday. Today we celebrated my mom’s birthday. I won’t say her age here, but she’s a good age. 🙂 It was beautiful weather today and on the way home we passed a scene of cows, big brown beautiful cows lying in very green grass. I tried taking a picture but we were traveling too fast for the picture to do any justice to what I saw. The skies were blue and the breeze that I felt on my sunkissed eyes as I closed them was, in a word, heavenly.

It was a good day, a beautiful day. I am not really looking forward to this day ending, but I am thankful today to be alive. No, wait, I’m thankful every day to be alive, but today, I’m making a conscious decision to thankful of this moment and this moment and this one, right here.

Mondays. I can’t say I love them. But, I guess with the awareness that they mean that life goes on from one beautiful moment to another possibly beautiful moment, I can’t hate them either.

Mondays. Let’s reclaim Mondays. Let’s get happy for Mondays, next Monday.

Stop.

Do you dread Mondays? What’s causing your dread?

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

