sleeping late

Growing up, I never really had a bedtime. Or, at least, I can’t remember having a bedtime. Usually, on most nights, I think we, or my siblings and I, just went to bed when we were tired, usually around 9 or 9:30 pm.

I remember the first time in my life that I stayed up past 9:30 pm. It was at a sleepover at my house. We, or my friends and I, were watching TV and they had so much energy, but me? I was exhausted. My eyes were hurting but I tried to stay awake to be just like them.

In college, I often slept late during finals time. I didn’t make a habit of it, but I did sleep at later hours to cram in last minute study session. And then when finals ended, I’d make up for my lost sleep by sleeping well into the late morning on school breaks.

Now, as a mom, I have an early bedtime. I usually try to get to bed before 11 pm because anything after that, I won’t be able to function the next day. My eyes will hurt. I’ll be grumpy. My body will ache. And I’ll snack on sweets and bread and cheese all day to stay awake.But these things really can’t keep me awake. They’ll just drag me down and make it more impossible for me to function like a normal human being.

So, yeah, being tired is not good me or my children or all of civil society. So, yeah, I like to sleep on time.

STOP.

What time do you go to sleep at night?

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

