you don’t have to be rich to do what you love

I heard this in a commercial the other day. “You don’t have to be rich to do what you love.” Hmm. That’s the truth. But I never really thought about that as the truth before.

Before, I used to wish to be rich so that I could afford to have the leisure, the time to really pursue my hobbies, or my hobbies of writing and photography. Jobs suck in that they distract you, sometimes, from those things. I worked at a job from the time I graduated college until my first daughter was born.

I didn’t really pursue my hobbies then because I spent so much time working and thinking about work. No, I take that back, I didn’t really pursue my hobbies then because I didn’t really want to pursue them on top of my paying job. So, then it was in mind, “If I were rich and didn’t have to work, I could REALLY do what I love.” But that’s not true. You don’t have to be rich to do what you love. You just have to be committed to do what you love whether you get rich or not. Yeah.

Right now, I’m not rich. And I’m not saying that as some do to sound modest. No. Seriously. I’m not rich at all. But I’m doing what I love, I’m writing and taking pictures and…mothering. Hmm. Mothering. I never really thought of that as a kind of job to list in my dreams of doing what I love, but it is, I realize now.

I do what I love and that’s why I feel, without a paycheck, most fulfilled at this point in my life. I feel most happy at this point in my live.

I’m doing what I love.

STOP.

How do you interpret the quote, “You don’t have to be rich to do what you love”? What’s it got to do with your real life?

This entry was posted in Life, Motherhood, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to you don’t have to be rich to do what you love

  1. fromsonika says:

    I am still waiting to be employed and earn something. But looking at that line and trying to figure what makes me happy – its the time that I spend with my mom, the calls I make to my dad when he is travelling, the endless chats I have with my closest friends over coffee, and the comments I see on my blog ! None of this is about money. Yes, it helps a big deal in sitting at a high-end cafe with friends, or shopping a lot for my parents. But then, at the end of the day it is not the food, bill or ambiance that is remembered, but the feeling and the smile on the faces. That smile comes even with a smaller gift or hours spend at a cozy reasonable cafe. So, I totally agree with that statement and hope that never in my life do I loose the grip of this reality. 🙂

    • Jessica says:

      I love your perspective! And, it’s so true. At the end of the day, it’s not the monetary stuff that matters. It’s the intangible stuff, the connections we’ve made, the pursuit of our passions that matters most. 🙂

Come on, join in the fun!

