dinner at 8

I went out to dinner tonight with a friend from college. What? I know it sounds like such a small thing, but really, let me repeat that again. I went out to dinner tonight with a friend from college. The key word here is: tonight. This is the first time in months that I’ve left my house without my children for an evening of dinner in months!

I left the house at 7:30 pm, jumped in my car filled with car seats and blankets and sand from the park and blasted the radio, for once. The weather was kind of nice and there was a slight breeze so I rolled my windows down and reveled in that moment of going to dinner at night with a friend and without my kids.

I mean, I love my kids. Like, really, I love my kids. I bring them with me everywhere, because I’m so used to having them with me all the time. They’re like my mini best friends, which is kind of scary. Kind of. The point is that we’re really close, so close that I often choose to be with them over not being with them. Though, I know that it’s important for us all to, you know, not be attached at the hip all of the time.

Tonight was one of those nights. I got home close to 10 and my girls were sleep and I had chocolate stuck in my teeth. It was a sweet feeling. A very sweet feeling, indeed.

STOP.

Parents, when’s the last time you went out without your kids to somewhere nice?

This entry was posted in Life, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

