running a 10k marathon

I have been running since 19. Let me rephrase that. I have been running for exercise since 19. And since then, I’ve always wanted to enter some kind of marathon. I wanted a t-shirt. I wanted those little energy drinks they give out. I wanted to have that feeling of accomplishing something so physical.But… like many goals, I put that goal, or my goal of running in a marathon off.

But, then, and with the encouragement of my sister, I decided this year, as one of my New Year’s resolutions to take the plunge. Yeah. I mean, sure, I had a baby in October and sure I just cancelled my gym membership, but somehow, the idea of entering a marathon made sense.

So, I signed up for a marathon. I signed up for a marathon in June. It’s a 10 k. It’s a walk and run marathon so I figure that I will, if nothing else, finish. I’m not very concerned about my time or any rewards. I just want to finish.

To finish, I’ve kind of been training. I got a jogging stroller two weeks ago, and I’ve been running, and, mostly, walking with that. It’s been interesting to say the least. And while I don’t think I’m “there” yet, or where I need to be to do the marathon without dying, but I’m slowly getting there. Slowly.

Stop.

Have you ever entered a marathon? Any tips that you’d be willing to pass on?

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to running a 10k marathon

  1. I entered a 5 miler last June…my first race of any kind. I’ve been trying to be a runner since having kids but it’s always an on and off kinda thing. Exercise in general is, actually. I’m toying with the idea of registering again for the June one.

    • Jessica says:

      Nice! How did you do with the whole training part? Any tips you could share? As my race approaches, I’m getting more and more nervous about how little time I’ve actually been investing in trying to get ready physically.

Come on, join in the fun!

