when writing dreams come true

I have never fancied myself a writer. I mean, I have always written things to myself, things like letters, journal entries on loose-leaf papers, reminders, essays, short stories, but I did these things because writing for me, has always been kind of like washing my face each morning. It’s what I do. It’s where I go to make sense of things, to reflect, to create, to find inspiration.

I write when I am happy, sad, angry because that’s when I communicate best…on paper, alone, with a pen (but, sometimes, a keyboard).

I never thought that I wanted to be a writer. No. Not me. I wanted to be an actress, a dancer, a psychologist, a singer, but never a writer. I didn’t think then that writing was a career that I could reasonably follow but unconsciously I did follow it.

I went to graduate school to write and then started my blog to write. I didn’t want anything from my writing except to find parts of myself and to share and to connect with others through my words.

After two years of blogging, I’ve learned so much about myself as a writer. I have learned that online friendships are possible, that if you make yourself vulnerable, you can write beautiful things. I have learned that sometimes writing dreams do come true.

Today, one of my writing dreams came true. One of my posts from MNR was picked up for syndication by BlogHer. I am ecstatic and overjoyed and humbled.

STOP.

I don’t have a question, but I do want to say that if you are a writer, please stick to your dreams of writing. It (whatever it is that you want) can and will happen to you. Write well. Write about what inspires you and just be. Love your stuff and someone will hear you. Eventually Someone will be inspired. Eventually. Someone will “get you.” Eventually. Just wait.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to when writing dreams come true

  1. Congratulations Jessica! That’s so awesome! Even if it wasn’t for the great news, I would still love this post. My favorite line is “if you make yourself vulnerable, you can write beautiful things”. That right there is beautiful. Thanks for sharing your wonderful writing with us. 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    Thank you, Vanessa. You’re too kind. I really am happy that you liked it! 🙂

Come on, join in the fun!

