html coding makes my head hurt so I’ll read instead

I’m not a technical person. I think Math got “hard” for me in seventh grade. Yeah. That’s when I got my first C on a progress report. “You can come in for study sessions,” said my Algebra teacher when I went to him crying about what I assumed was a mistake made in the printing of my report.

He said it wasn’t mistake and proceeded to show me how I got the grade I got. It was then, I think, that I shunned Math and numbers as my enemy. I shunned Math and slumped/slouched/curled deeper into the things that came easy for me, or words and sentences and serial commas.

In college, I majored in English. I was the only one of my friends to make such a “risky” move. Everyone else I knew had majors that bespoke of the kinds of money they’d get upon graduating from college, or Engineering or Math or Finance. Me, me, I took the eccentric route and did English because I wanted to write. But for anyone who’s been an English major knows, English majors do not just write, mainly they read… a lot.

But this all is not the point of this post. This post is the one where I complain about having to be a html coder for my other blog. I like designing things and doing fun stuff like creating pretty pictures, but it’s the other more technical side of things that frustrates me. So, I write this annoyed, annoyed that I can’t figure out the right code/plugin/scripts to get something to work on my blog. Waaah! That was a baby waah. Or is it wahhhh. No, I think it’s Waaaaaaah.

*sigh. That’s all.

STOP.

Are you really good at some topics and not so great at others? Did your major in college follow your natural talents or something else?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to html coding makes my head hurt so I’ll read instead

  1. Adriel Booker says:

    oh yes, the code makes me dizzy. i’m not even going to get into how i spent most of my night last night. let’s just say blogger to WP, fixing links, messy code, some cursing under my breath, blah blah blah. i would totally hire an assistant to take care of stuff like that if i could! don’t even get me started about taxes and number-crunching. 😉

  2. Jessica says:

    lol. That’s so funny! But, I can certainly relate! If you ever do find an assistant who is willing to work for free, please send them my way! At midnight last night, I almost went with a professional designer just so I wouldn’t have to deal with any of this, but, my bank account is the one standing in my way. 😦 Oh, well. Yeah. With taxes, we have someone who helps us. A family friend who charges a small free. I don’t know how we’d do it otherwise!

Come on, join in the fun!

