there’s something ironic about this

When I was a kid, my mom was a stickler for us, or me and siblings, using the “right” words when speaking with her. When calling our names, she asked that we say, “Yes,” not “yep” or “Huh? or “What?” It had to yes something, “yes, maam,” “yes, mom,” “yes, I’m here in the bathroom (pretending to brush my teeth.”)

As a child, I never got the big deal of my mom’s language concerns. I never got how the switching out of words that seemingly mean the same thing could matter or mean so much.

Well, that is, until I became a mom. Last week, my toddler began to say “yep” instead of “yes.” So, instead of “Yes, mommy” when I ask if she’s seen my car keys (usually they’re in the trash), she’ll say “yep.” No doubt, I use “yep” all the time. And yep v yes is not tragic. It’s not a big deal, at all.

I know that she can say “yes” and that Harvard will not bar her admission if when she responds with “yep” when asked if she thinks she’d be a good candidate for their engineering program…Or will they?

And therein lies the tragedy of in-the-moment parenting. Obsession and thoughts about things that really won’t prove to be a big deal but that seem a big deal in the moment when you overthinking your child’s future.

But that’s my time. It’s been 5 minutes right? Yep.

 

This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to there’s something ironic about this

  1. Kory says:

    I tend to over think everything! 🙂 Though probably not a huge deal, I see where you are coming from. I try to curb certain words and promote the use of others. I do notice that I tend to speak to her in questions sometimes and it probably can be quite confusing for her. Something like “That was yummy, huh?” and I notice I get a little “huh” answer. LOL! Guess I gotta work on that. I guess we could beat ourselves up over many things, but ultimately they will grow up and turn out great regardless of our fears of the future.

    • Jessica says:

      That’s very true, Kory! And I’m the same way! Isn’t it amazing how much they’re learning from us? It’s inspiring and kind of scary at the same time!

Come on, join in the fun!

