yearning for a simpler life

I’ve always felt a bit torn about modernization. In my youth, I wanted to live on a  farm…or was it a prairie? Hmm. I can’t remember which one at this point. All I know is that I wanted a house that was surrounded by green lands, vast lands, the kind I imagined when I would sing “America” in sixth grade chorus practice.

I didn’t want to attend a regular, brick building school with boxed lunches and concrete walls. I wanted to attend a school house. Beyond being, at least in my head, quite scenic, I adored the idea that I could know everyone at my school, that my classes could be small enough for the introverted side of me to truly thrive.

The simple life. That’s what I wanted. And that’s what I still cling to when I imagine the kind of life I’d like for my girls and the woman I could be if I didn’t have a computer, electricity, and modern conveniences standing in my way.

The simple life or living the simple life is beautiful to me though I’ve come to love my more complicated life. I’ve come to rely on my cell phone and computer and air conditioning and dish washer, but I’d like to believe that I could, if necessary, return to the basics and be…simply human.

It’s all so romanticized and unrealistic, but hey, a girl can dream, right?

STOP.

Do you ever feel torn between a yearning for a simple life and your perceived reliance on the conveniences that come with modern life?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

