a dancer

I’ve always wanted to be a dancer, a ballerina. I wanted to be able to walk on my toes and look dainty and wear my hair in a very tight bun that brought attention to my best features, my eyes.

But, I never did pursue dancing. Never. I watched ballets and listened to classical music to imagine myself dancing but I never did dance. I was too tall, I rationalized, too clumsy and too…normal sized.

I could never be a dancer because I wasn’t meant to be a dancer.

Dancers a born, not just made.

And I was NOT born a dancer.

So though it was my dream to dance, I never did dance because I came up with so many excuses as to why I was not a dancer.

Excuses. Sometimes excuses are good. But sometimes they’re stupid. Sometimes they stand in the way of us pursuing our goals and saying our true feelings and being…ourselves, unapologetically.

I’m not a dancer, but I could’ve been, I realized, if I really wanted to.

STOP.

Did you have a dream of becoming something when you were a child? What did you want to become and what became of that dream as you got older?

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a dancer

  1. Pingback: Contemporary Fine Art Review by New York Art Critic Hall Groat II on the artwork of Ohioan Artist Cheri Homaee « Le Art Studio

Come on, join in the fun!

