i should write more poetry

I used to write poetry. Privately. In loose leaf notebooks and with blue and black pens, I wrote things that rhymed, sometimes nauseatingly. I sometimes wrote poetry, but I never shared it.

In undergraduate school, someone told me that true poets study their craft, that the idea that anyone could create “real” poetry was ill-conceived. I said things to suggest I disagreed, but somehow I did agree and I’ve carried that belief with me. It’s defined why I haven’t published any poetry online or elsewhere.

Poetry is beautiful, however. And I want to enjoy it and write it again, just for the practice.

I want to write something short.

Hanging  syllables.

Connected through ideas.

I want to write.

I want to write something that is emotional.

I want to write.

I want to write something I think I can’t.

Write.

Short.

Because I really can.

Write.

Short.

Emotional.

Write.

I should probably freestyle a poem here and now but I know it would likely be horrible and I’d rather not make that kind of a statement about myself.

At least not yet.

🙂

STOP.

Is there a style of writing that you’re not as great at? If so, what’s the style and do you ever practice it just for the sake of getting better?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to i should write more poetry

  1. beckony says:

    I too dabbled in poetry. I’m not that great and I’ll probably never be publishable in it, but I like to fool around with it because poetry has that lovely language quality that I want to impart into my fiction. I think it’s great practice both because its concise and because it makes you consider each and every word you use.

    • Jessica says:

      Very true! It’s definitely a talent. I need to try to write poetry more often and get over my fear of not being perfect. That’s the only way you learn, you know?

  2. Pingback: Birth and Poetry Writing « elspethc

  3. Pingback: Priorities in #amwriting | Zara ~ a writing story

  4. Pingback: let’s write poetry ~ #amwriting #poetry #frapalymo « Phoenix's Poetry & Stories

Come on, join in the fun!

