how do you handle rejection as a writer?

I think rejection is par for the course of being a writer. As a writer, some will love what you write. They’ll love it so much that they’ll praise you, pay you, recommend you. But, sometimes, sometimes, people will not love what you write.

Rejection.

Rejection is par the course of being a writer. To be a writer, to put yourself out there, you must be able to handle rejection. You must remember that when one of your pieces is rejected, it’s not because of you, it’s because of what you’ve written. There’s a difference.

A big difference.

I used to never think I’d be able to handle any negative feedback on my writing. I used to never read my teacher’s critiques of my writings until two years after receiving those critiques. Then, I did it because I feared that it, or the critiques, could “break” me, break my spirit as a writer, change my voice.

And it did do those things, at times.

But now, now that I’ve grown and matured, I’ve learned not to cry or take personally when others don’t like what I’ve written. I listen to critiques and plan to do better, work harder, plan more for next time.

That’s all.

STOP.

How do you deal with negative feedback on your writings? How do you handle rejections?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to how do you handle rejection as a writer?

  1. 1. not sure how i didnt know about this blog. i think it’s because i’ve been reading your posts via rss.
    2. i don’t stress rejection when it comes to writing. not everyone likes what everyone writes. this is why there are so many genre and sub-genres. this is why i like blogging so much, because you’re able to connect with like minded people so easily.

    i love this idea of 5 minute writings!

    • Jessica says:

      lol. I’m glad you found me! I need to promote this blog more because so many have told me the same thing in the past week, or that they had no idea I had another blog! I agree with your point! I think it’s most important to not take things personally, to keep writing, to keep connecting with, as you said, like minded people. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I really appreciate it!

  2. Pingback: Assorted writing tips #4 | Emily's Tea Leaves

  3. Pingback: The Great Matter: Rejection « The Waking Den

Come on, join in the fun!

