minding my own business

I hate it when I forget to write on this blog. Usually, what happens, when I forget to write, is I get amnesia. This causes me to only remember the direction of my bed. That’s what happened last night at least.

I didn’t write, I just slept and it was glorious. I woke up fresh and ready to write here about all the things I’ve been seeing in the news lately, about gay marriage and “hot” moms on Time magazine covers breastfeeding their toddlers.

There’s been a lot of news lately, so let me start with gay marriage. I’m happy that Obama took a “controversial” stance on recognizing publicly that people should be allowed to marry who they love. I’m happy. I’m happy because for so long the business of who marries who wasn’t really, I felt, my business. My marriage is between one woman and one man, but that’s my marriage. To attempt to force people into my marriage just because the crux of what their marriage could mean to the normative understandings of heterosexuality is wrong, at least to me.

It’s also wrong, I think, that Time magazine is trying to incite the mommy wars by encouraging moms (and dads) to ask themselves if they are “mommy enough” to be like the breastfeeding blonde on the front cover. How long a mom choose to breastfeed her baby or parent her children is…her business.

If no one’s being hurt, then why not let people live…

Period.

STOP.

I was kind of all over the place tonight because I have a lot to say on both the Time magazine cover and Obama’s recognition of gay marriage. But, I’ll stop here.

What do you think of the Time magazine cover? What do you think of Obama’s public acknowledgement of gay marriage?

This entry was posted in politics & news and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to minding my own business

  1. jenhin says:

    I agree wholeheartedly! Don’t you just love mommy wars? 🙂

  2. Pingback: Marriage should be earned | Intentious

  3. Anonymous says:

    ˽ϴ_ˤʤΤߤ å ؔ,դΥڥ륪ե`

Come on, join in the fun!

