the difference between men and women

I am convinced that men and women think differently. Yes, that must be it. That must be the reason why in asking for my husband’s help with a seemingly simple IT related task he thought it perfectly necessary to spend two hours on explaining everything related to that task and everything on that task before telling me how to complete my task. When it comes to IT stuff, he’s incredibly detail oriented.

He takes his time. He searches for answers. And he will NOT stop until he’s found the answers he’s looking for.

It’s his line of work, possibly, that makes him that way, but I think part of it also has to do with his gender and the acceptability of men to be detail oriented in some parts of their lives, like their jobs, and not detail oriented in other areas, like grocery shopping.

Hmm.

These are just preliminary thoughts, however. And I could after two hours of looking at the same screen and learning terms that I couldn’t/wouldn’t repeat if you held a gun to my head, repeat. But these are my thoughts, for now.

STOP.

What do you think? Do men and women think differently? Is it biological, cultural, social, or something else, like maybe UFOs? Hmm.

This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the difference between men and women

  1. Cecilia says:

    Mmm…yes, I definitely think so, generally speaking anyway. I am paying a lot of attention to this now that I am raising a little boy. Even at this age I see how little boys tend to let things slide, or not get bogged down in interpersonal stuff, whereas my son’s girl peers are more likely to get upset at friends, remain upset for a long time, break off friendships, etc. (My son in fact has already lost a good girl friend because she was still upset from something that happened a month earlier while he couldn’t remember what had happened…) On the flip side of the same coin, I see the girls being much more in tune to people’s feelings than boys are. I think it has to be biological because I spend more time with my son than my husband does, and I am VERY sensitive, and yet my son takes after my husband more!

    • Jessica says:

      That’s really interesting! That’s amazing that your son’s lost girl friend is still holding a grudge, and at such a young age! But, that’s what many would consider a characteristically “female” trait. Females, speaking from my experience and the experiences of women I know, typically do remember more, carry on to more, and feel more, I think. That’s fascinating.

      You know, before getting married, I was a staunch feminist who believed that all differences between men and women were a result of socialization. But, through marriage and, even more, through having children, I’ve realized that’s not the case. Men and women can be socialized to behave certain ways, but who they are, at the core, is biological.

Come on, join in the fun!

