5 minutes of writing a day

I am sometimes asked what, if any, lessons this 5 minute blog has taught me. And in response to this, I usually say something along the lines of, “Oh, it’s made me more trusting of my writing, more confident as a writer, and less afraid to just write.” And these things are true.

Writing here has been a nice journey. It’s shown me that I can write, that what holds me back from writing is my fear of what others may think of my writing. The editing process is long, at times, and scary. To make mistakes in front of others, to see your mistakes and then wonder who else has seen your mistakes– it’s hard.

But, it’s necessary. It’s necessary to make mistakes. It’s necessary to learn, to be humbled. It’s necessary to just    keep   writing.

I think I’ve suffered from many writer’s blocks on account of my unwillingness to just write. Sometimes, I take things too seriously or not seriously enough.

Sometimes, I get too concerned with the particulars, and perceptions, and my best ideas, that I forget about everything else.

My short little bits are random, but some of them are good.

And I’m proud of that.

STOP.

How do you stay fresh as a writer? Do you write everyday?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5 minutes of writing a day

  1. No, I think I need to do that. I started writing a novel 9 years ago & had to stop cause my brain got in the way. Sometimes just writing helps move it along

  2. Jessica says:

    That’s awesome! And I agree. Sometimes the act of writing is what can help get things moving again. I have a novel that I started and stopped some time ago. I want to return to it, but I think I convince myself that I don’t have the time. But, you, you give me hope!

  3. Blogging is a great exercise. It also helps to think of your life in terms of stories. As a storyteller, I probably do more this than a lot of folks. I think it helps us realize the value of or own lives, and to recognize that we are not only unique, but that we have in common so many universal feelings and experiences with the rest of the world. Five minutes a day of writing is a great idea, and I love the way you encourage your readers in this.

    • Jessica says:

      Thank you, Naomi! And I really agree with your take on blogging. It really is a great exercise. And that’s ultimately why I keep at it.

Come on, join in the fun!

