parenting books

I’ve been reading a lot of parenting books lately.

Well, not the kind of parenting books that dish out parenting advice in the kind of explicit “let me help you” kind of a way, but I’m talking about the new kind of parenting book.

The kind that is more personal, narrative in structure and built to put parents at ease with the act of parenting and with the idea of being a parent through a series of essays, sometimes, stories about the author’s experiences as a parent.

I think it’s interesting that talking about parenting never gets old. I think, I realized this after my fifth book by a one-time actress who in becoming a mom had a new story to share with us regular parents.

It’s fascinating that parenting can do that. It’s fascinating that there are millions of parenting blogs and essays on variations of similar topics.

It’s fascinating that parenting is something that brings in so many different kinds of perspectives and differing sets of experiences. Fascinating.

It never gets old, I think. It never gets old or boring, at least not when you’re in the throes of being a parent.

STOP.

**

Do you read parenting books and essays?  If so, what do you get from them? Why do you read?

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to parenting books

  1. Keia says:

    I pretend to read parenting books. Okay, I’ve read a few short articles here and there.
    As you said, parenting NEVER gets old. I think these books can either be repetitive or bring a new outlook on an concept. What I’ve learned from them is that I am not alone, when I think I am…and that makes me feel so much better.

    • Jessica says:

      I agree! And that’s what they give me, too! Hearing new perspectives never hurts! And it’s always nice to hear that you are not alone.

  2. I am really enjoying exploring your blog! You ask some great questions. I didn’t read parenting books. I raised my kids mostly by following my instincts. For instance, I have never raised a hand to a kid. What do we teach them, except that it is okay for bigger people to use violence on little people to have their way? If you check out my post, Reflections, you will have my take on parenting in a nutshell. http://naomibaltuck.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/photo-challenge-reflections/

    • Jessica says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. I think following your instincts is the best route. I learned that almost a year after having my first daughter. 🙂 Now with my second daughter, I only parent by my instincts. I mean, I do read books and blogs on parenting, and I do get inspiration from that places. But, mostly, it’s all in my gut. 🙂

      I’m off to check out your blog now!

Come on, join in the fun!

