want less, love more

The thing about being an westerner is that sometimes you take for granted things that really should not be taken for granted. You forget that electricity is something that some go without. You forget that running the water while brushing your teeth is a luxury that many do not have. You forget and complain and take things for granted because you can.

I grew up in a middle class household. My dad work. My mom stayed home. I have siblings and our first house really did have a white picket fence. Really. Well, actually it was wooden and brown, but we painted it white one summer. And then we began living the image of the American dream.

I never thought I did, but in comparison to some, my life was privileged. I always had what I needed, but like many, I always wanted more. I wanted more shoes. Each year, I wanted a new pair of shoes to go back to school in and new outfits from department stores.

I wanted… a lot. But that’s the thing about wanting. When you want more, you forget about what you have. When you don’t have, you make use of what you have in creative ways. You stretch yourself to think of ways to make what you have work.

I hope to teach my children to stretch. I hope to teach them to love more of what they have. I hope that’s their American dream.

STOP.

This post was kind of all over the place, but it comes from a place of me thinking more about how to live more simply and love more fully.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to want less, love more

  1. akupofkatie says:

    I stumbled across your blog and really enjoyed it! :]

  2. Brandi says:

    Oh my, yes. I’ve recently discovered this, and I am in the process of getting rid of stuff. I look around and see what I have and think that there is nothing more that I want. That I already have so much. Too much.

    • Jessica says:

      It’s so empowering, isn’t it? I think so much of my life was spent chasing things I thought I needed to have to be __________ (happy, successful, fulfilled, motivated, loved). And it was the chase of more that defined my vision of what I had and my life’s purpose. Now, I have begun to see that I have enough today. I am not rich, but I have enough. And that’s enough for me!

Come on, join in the fun!

