blogging can do that to you

I like finding and reading new blogs. I like the freshness of them, the untainted-ness of the author’s opinions and perceptions about life and their role as speaker to an audience of strangers.

I’ve been blogging for two years. Two whole years.

In the course of two years, I’ve made friends, talked about things from sagging breasts to writing, and I’ve found my voice, my writing voice. I wouldn’t say that I’ve been changed through blogging, but I will say that I’ve become more of myself through blogging.

I’ve become more confident in my words, in my parenting abilities, and my desire to write…no, on that last one, I meant to say my passion as a writer.

I’ve chosen my words more carefully now, for better and sometimes for worse. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again– I think when you’ve written for a longer amount of time online, you begin thinking too much, you worry too much, you’re too intentional.

I like this blog because I feel new here. I like that writing here reminds me or takes me back to where I’d like to go with my writing.

STOP.

How do you stay connected to your true self online? How do you stay fresh as a writer?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to blogging can do that to you

  1. Hi Ms. Hinton. I noticed that nice first sentence of this post and I thought “Ah, I’ll introduce myself.” My name is Ben and I started a blog yesterday called Books for Writers (http://booksforwriters.wordpress.com/). Maybe you’d like to check it out. It’s merely short, truly unprofessional reviews of books I think writers may be interested in, and it is NOT criticism–if you’re good at something, don’t do it for free, right? I like your lack of pretension and would be honored if you checked out the blog. It’s my first blog, haven’t got everything worked out yet, but there is one sizable post.

  2. atelljd says:

    Key to staying fresh: never stop writing.

    A. Tell

Come on, join in the fun!

