you are a writer

What’s the step to becoming a great writer? Well, the first step is taking yourself seriously as a writer. You must call yourself a writer and believe that you are doing this, or writing, every time you sit down to write.

I was always reluctant to call myself a writer. I feared that I wasn’t ready yet for such a noble title. I feared that in calling myself a writer, others would judge me and think, “Hey! She sucks at this!” And then I’d cry and feel defeated and give up on my passion. I feared that would break me.

So, I always said I was “aspiring” to be a writer. I always talked about writing as if it were some far off dream that was elusive, dreamy, and possible unreal for me.

But, I’ve learned that so long as I wait on the right moment, the right affirmation, the right feeling to do the thing I really want to do with the rest of my life, I’ll get no where.

So, about a year ago, I stopped. I stopped not trying to call what I was doing writing. I started calling myself a writer. I put that, or writer, in my professional bios. I talked about me being a writer to others. I looked in the mirror and saw a writer. Well, not really. Or, I didn’t really look in the mirror and say that, but I could have and would have done that. I think.

So, today, if you are writing and want to be a writer, I encourage you to say, “I am a writer.” Keep saying it and soon you’ll believe it. I promise.

STOP.

No question today. But, if you’re in America, Happy Fourth of July to you!

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

