do you overthink your writings?

I know I do. When I have too much time for a writing assignment, or when I’m feeling uncertain about my ideas, I spend hours editing and re-editing the same content over and over and over again.

It’s really horrible.

So today, I’m working on an essay. It’s only 1,000 words and I had 1,000 words, but now I’m down to 500. 500 words that aren’t really saying what I want them to say.

So, that’s my night, or day, because I started this during my girls’ 3 hour nap.

I hate when this happens. I hate when I have enough time to second guess myself as a writer. I hate when I worry too much about how things will be perceived. I hate when I feel so tied into a particular piece that I refuse to take a step back, refocus, and start writing again. Don’t you?

STOP.

Does this ever happen to you? Do you ever find yourself editing the crap out of piece only to realize that you don’t know where you’re going?

 

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on, join in the fun!

