writer friends, i need your help

So, remember that novel that I’ve been talking about on this blog for the longest time? In case you don’t. I started it about four years ago and kind of left it when my life got more hectic. I’ve wanted to return to it, but I never have out of fear of not liking anything about it.

Well, last night I returned to it. And I liked it…kind of. I feel like I’ve changed a bit as a writer. I like a lot about the story and about the characters I’ve constructed, but there’s so much I want to change. I have over 30,000 words so far and haven’t even gotten into the crux of the story. So I think they’re be a lot more words once this thing is all done.

So, my question to you all, writer friends is how do you determine where to go with an old writing project that you kind of are in love with? Would you continue to write and see where it gets you? Or would you make changes to what you have and then continue writing? I am so excited about this novel, but I don’t know where to go, so any help would be wonderful!

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to writer friends, i need your help

  1. thebaffledo0queen0ocomposing says:

    Write write write write write! You can’t go wrong if you do that 😉

  2. Candace Knoebel says:

    I went through the same thing with my second novel. I just read what I had already written to refresh my memory, and made minor corrections along the way. After that, it was the thrill of blank pages to fill!
    Good luck!

  3. diannegray says:

    Keep going! Write what you love to write and what’s in your heart 🙂

Come on, join in the fun!

