i like being a parent

I probably should write this post on my other blog, but since I just got done with editing over 500 pictures from a vacation that my family and I took recently, I thought I’d say it hear.

I thought I’d say that I like being a parent. Before having children, I pitied most parents and couldn’t really tell that my parents ever really enjoyed, fully, being parents. When I became a parent, when anyone becomes a parent, you get that getting whether someone enjoys parenthood is kind of hard to see on the outside all of the time.

Parenthood, being a parent, are hard. There are sleepless nights and battles and stress and tears, lots of tears. From the outside looking in, it’s easy to see these things. But parenting is also very sweet. And that’s why people have kids and cry when their kids grow up or get married or graduate from preschool.

I like being a parent. I like helping my children grow into adults. I like being instrumental in their development. I like building sand castles and blowing bubbles and sliding down hot, plastic slides.

I like being a parent. I like hearing “I love you” and looking at pictures of good times.

I like being a parent.

STOP.

If you are a parent, do you have particular moments when you think about just how lucky you are to be a parent?

This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to i like being a parent

  1. Cecilia says:

    Hmm…I think I feel this when I am busy. (I hope this is going to come out the right way, btw.) My life feels richer, fuller because I have a child. Although I would have plenty to do if I never became a mother, my life feels jam packed right now with purpose and future and goals. I sometimes try to picture how things will be once my son is in college…and maybe I am unsure of how I feel about that. So, I feel lucky to have days that feel purposeful.

    And like you said, I feel privileged to have a role in developing my child into an adult. I see him and feel pure gratitude. My son is a miracle to me, even when he is having a melt down or giving me attitude. He is the most amazing thing in my life. I can’t believe we produced him, and that he is in our lives. I guess I actually have thought about your question a lot, because I went through this period where I realized we were not going to have a second child…and instead of dwelling on the loss, I changed my focus to thinking about what I have. And I have so much, in this one child.

    • Jessica says:

      I get you, completely. And I think that your feelings are shared by so many parents, myself included. My children are giving my days purpose now, and I do wonder what my days without them will be like.It’s terrifying and thrilling at the same time. But mostly terrifying.

      Thank you for sharing your story. I think your attitude change is something of a lesson for us all. We all do have ideas about what we think should be that sometimes we forget to celebrate what is. You do have so much in your child. And your job of raising him is big.

  2. It’s the most important and most rewarding thing I’ve ever done. And the hardest. But the best.

Come on, join in the fun!

