that’s my style

I think there’s something really good to be said about people who can be around a lot of people and still remain true to their unique talents, their style, their voice. That’s hard. Or, that’s always been hard for me.

When I was in high school, I wore denim blue jeans and sweatshirts because that was the “style.” I didn’t really like denim blue jeans and sweatshirts, but I did it because I already had one “strike” against my coolness in that I was a nerd.

Now that I’m older, I’m trying to rediscover my style. I think it’s something that’s a mismatch of casual chic and classic, but I’m still figuring that out. I cleaned out my closet the other day of all the clothes I bought because I saw them on someone else and thought, “Hey! That’s my style!” Those clothes weren’t my style. I know this now. They were the style of someone I admired.

So, now, I’m trying to find my style. I’m trying to buy the clothes that make me happy just because they make me happy. It’s not an easy process, but I’m working on it.

STOP.

Are you easily influenced by what others are doing? How do you stay true to your style, your voice, your perspective?

This entry was posted in Fashion (Or. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to that’s my style

  1. diannegray says:

    I try not to let others’ style influence me – but it can be difficult at times. I really admire people who have their own style 🙂

    • Jessica says:

      Me, too! I’m definitely in awe of those people and wonder how they do it. I feel like I generally have a style, but I go in and out of it depending on how confident I’m feeling in it.

Come on, join in the fun!

