fashion police

I stumbled upon a link showing two celebrities wearing what, I guess, some would consider awful clothing. The first offender was Lady Gaga wearing what looked to be a throwback to biblical times with squirrel adornments and the second was of comedienne Mindy Kaling. The headline read, “Fashion Police Offenders.”

Now, as is usual, these types of articles are unfortunate because they have the effect of redefining what is a fashion offense. Okay, I get the Lady Gaga thing. But, in my opinion, the dress and heels worn by Mindy were okay. I mean, I don’t think I would have worn the outfit myself, but on her, it worked. I’m sure when she put it on, she thought it worked, too. I’m sure she put it on and thought, “Man. I’m looking good.” But then, maybe she second guessed herself when she saw the headline.

And that’s why I would never really want to be famous. Last week, I gave away half of my closet because my clothes were hideous. I can admit this because unlike the celebrities in those magazines, my clothes aren’t expensive or thought about in the same way. I don’t think when buying jeans about the statement I want to make about my style, though I probably should. I assume that most don’t see me and that my style is really something that I should be concerned about for more subjective reasons like my feelings.

So, yeah, that’s why I couldn’t be a celebrity. I wouldn’t want to see myself on a magazine with a headline reading “Fashion Police.” I would hate to be smiling in the picture, too. Wouldn’t that be the worst?

Okay, I’m out of time. But tell me, what do you think about those magazine headlines naming fashion offenders? Yay or nay?

This entry was posted in Fashion (Or. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to fashion police

  1. It’s rude, rude, rude. I suppose anyone who seeks and gains celebrity knows that it is a hazard of the job and the lifestyle, but wouldn’t it be nice if people minded their own business and left other people alone?

Come on, join in the fun!

