daring to dream

I was talking to my sister this evening about dreams and how it seems that our generation is so intent in following our dreams and only pursuing that which we believe to be our calling. This is a new sensation, a new movement, I think.

When my dad was my age, he worked at a bottling company as a manager. He moved up from that position to Vice President, but I’m pretty sure that he didn’t have even that highest title in mind as his dream when he was younger and believed in the power of dreams to our human souls.

His job was something he did and learned to love because it paid for our family to eat and live. He learned to love it because he, like many Americans before him, perhaps, had no choice but to love it.

Today, we have choices. We have the choice to believe in our dreams and that they are worth pursuing, sometimes, even at the cost of what may seem practical in the present.

“I would quit my job today if I found my passion,” my sister went on.
“Even if I were paid three times less than I am today, I would quit.”

That’s a kind of passion and trade off that I think is unique to our generation. It’s unique to be able to dream and believe that our dreams are worth pursuing.

STOP.

Do you also think the concept of dreams has changed over time? Do you think your parents had the same understanding of the worth and power of dreams as you do?

This entry was posted in inspiration & selfhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to daring to dream

  1. Thought-provoking post . . . thank you!

    • No, most of our parents did not have the level of understanding of dreams being powerful enough to engage positive critical thought and follow, particularly if they were Black in a hostile society. But intellectual consciousness is evolutionary and social networking is a part of that process. For your sister and so many others, strive to understand why you were born and believe it was for worthwhile purpose.

    • Jessica says:

      Thank you for reading! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Come on, join in the fun!

