timeless writers

I am reading Virginia Woolf’s “A Room of One’s Own.” I read it once in high school, but then, or back then, I never really read books in the way I do now. Now, I take notes and since my life experiences are more vast as a 29 year old, I understand things more clearly and can make more connections than I once could.

Okay. But this is not the point of the post. In reading her words, I was reminded of the gift of great writers to seem great through the years. Their works seem to have a kind of timelessness that makes readers of any generation or decade want to make connections and see the authors, not simply as products of their time but as human beings of this infinite time.

We are all the same. Good writers get that, I think. They can write above the trends of what seems hot and just speak a kind of truth that remains and will remain of all human beings.

I want to be like that. I think in the age of the Internet, it’s so easy for us to throw our words around without much thought about the legacy of those words. We don’t always write for truth and the sake of saying something worth remembering because the pace of the Internet and the attention spans of our readers don’t always seem in line.

But, as writers, we should make it our goal. We should make it our goal to say something, even if very small and mundane, with our writings. We should make it our goal to think about the legacy of our words and consider their potential power as more than just trendy playthings that entertain for days at a time. We should aim to be like those writers we admire.

STOP.

This post was kind of all over the place. But there’s message there. Who are some of your favorite writers? Do you think the Internet changes how we use and value words?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to timeless writers

  1. Cecilia says:

    Really goood point, Jessica, and I was thinking about something similar just this weekend. I was on the phone today with my mom, and I told her how a few of my posts recently got featured on several sites. My mom, in her 70s, has only a rudimentary idea of what the internet is so her reaction, I felt, was prouder than it “should” have been. She was excited for me and I said to her, oh, it’s not like I’m getting published in the famous magazines…it’s just the internet. Already I was quick to put my writing down, because my posts stemmed from my blog and the publishing medium is not paper. And yet I do put thought into my writings and I did get selected. I think we devalue the writing that appears on the internet because basically “anyone” can do it; anyone can set up a blog, anyone can have his or her 15 minutes (or more) of fame whether it’s through blogging or commenting. But the positive is that now it’s easier to be heard. A common person like myself who didn’t grow up privileged or with connections can access readers. The playing field is wider and more open. For that I am grateful for the internet, but I also plan to not waste this advantage by making sure my words count.

    • Jessica says:

      Great point! I agree with you! In many ways, this medium is devalued because everyone can do it. But…that’s also a benefit. It’s a benefit that writers can create platforms and speak to audiences that they may not have reached in the “olden” days of traditional publishing. The key for writers is, exactly as you say, to make sure that they make their words count. It’s easy to fall into the trap of pushing out quantity over quality, but it’s the quality posts that withstand the test of time. And it’s those writers who are producing those posts that, I would argue, are timeless. I think you do a great job in producing great, timeless content. Your posts are among the few that I’ve found in my three years of blogging that I return to again and again, because they are good and speak to a kind of truth that will never get old. So, kudos to you for that! Keep up the great work! 🙂

  2. http://jobathomeideas.Com says:

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m
    not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good blog!

  3. Good day! I just desire to give an enormous thumbs up for the truly amazing
    info you will have here about this post. I could be coming again for the weblog for more soon.

Come on, join in the fun!

