extreme couponing

After watching some  episodes of Extreme Couponing on TLC, I’ve decided to stop throwing away all the coupons I get in the mail and give the whole thing a try. I don’t want to go “crazy” and create a stockpile in my basement of Frito Lays chips and deodorant, but I would like to save some money on my grocery bills.

I told my sister my plan earlier today and she laughed. “What. I didn’t think you had that much time on your hands!”

I don’t have that much time on my hands, but this one lady on this one blog that I found after spending an hour looking for online coupons on obscure blogs said that she does her couponing in one hour out of one day a week. I think I can do that.

I think so often coupons get a bad rep. I, for one, threw out my coupons because I assumed that they were more trouble than anything else. “Who has time to take our scissors and cut them out?” That was my rationale then. But now, after seeing people save hundreds of dollars on groceries, I’ve changed.

I want to save money. I want to buy a white binder and baseball card holders and walk around grocery stores like I know what I am doing. On the blog I read about how to be an extreme couponer, she suggested that everyone know their targeted grocery stores’ coupon policies and include a copy of those policies in their white binders. It sounds intense, right? But, I guess it will be worth it. When I save some money, I’ll be sure to let you know.

STOP.

Do you use coupons at the grocery store? Have you seen the hit show on TLC called “Extreme Couponing”?

This entry was posted in food & eating. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to extreme couponing

  1. Hi Jessica,

    I am not organized enough to make the most of couponing. I lose track of them and find them after they expire, or am at the store and realize that I could have brought my coupons. But sometimes I will save them up, go through them, and combine them with a “double” coupon off. That will save 6 or 7 dollars in one trip, which is significant savings. The trick is, as you say, to use them only on things you really want.

    • Jessica says:

      Yeah. Since this post, I started and gave up on extreme couponing. I couldn’t find a way to get 6 newspaper subscriptions, heck, I didn’t even want to pay for one yearly subscription. Also, like you said, it takes being organized. I am a fairly organized person, but I am lacking in motivation to make extreme couponing work. Oh, well. I will at least be on the look out for coupons and use them when I can. I just can’t make it any more than that at this point. 🙂

  2. Only You says:

    This summer I bought a small paperback size accordion-folder for my coupons. I arrange the coupons by expiration date and take the folder with me every time I go out. The thing is, I barely ever use the coupons…a lot of times I find that I wouldn’t even buy the item if I didn’t have the coupon (and sometimes the couponed item is actually more expensive than the other brand I’d normally get). And then the things I do need to buy, well, I end up forgetting I had a coupon for them. I’m hopelessly disorganized. But I’m with Naomi above; when I do remember I try to take advantage of my supermarket’s double coupon days. I LOVE those. Good luck to you! If it works out DO give us tips!!

    • Jessica says:

      Yeah. You know your story sounds like something that would happen to me. It really takes a lot of planning and organization to make it all work. I was telling Naomi that since I wrote this post, I started and gave up on being an extreme couponer. I will make an effort to use coupons when I have them, but it seems paying only $.25 cents for $200 worth of groceries is not yet in my cards. 😦

  3. Pingback: deconstructing things | Short Little Bits

Come on, join in the fun!

