Eat. Pray.Love

My sister gave me a copy of it for my birthday and I said I would read it soon. I was in graduate school then. It was my 24th birthday. The book was to be the start of me thinking more about how to live a more fulfilled life…at 24.

So, I started the book and stopped that year, blaming my inability on getting past Italy on all of my other school readings.

I started again the next year, again in Italy (the chapter), and again the next and the year after until finally I just rested it on the bookcase in my living room, convinced that it was “too slow” a book for me.

I saw the movie when it came out in 2010 and felt guilty, as I walked from the theatre, that as a new mom with a thirst for more literature, my book still sat on my bookcase.

So, I finished that book today. Finally. And I enjoyed it. It wasn’t too slow this time, but I think that I can attribute more of my sentiments on this to how much I’ve changed in six years! Six years! I have two children now and less time, but with age and more of an awareness that life doesn’t have to be rushed to be meaningful, I now can enjoy my books. I consume them like expensive, small desserts, bits at a time…and I savor.

So, I guess you can say this is a book review that’s six years overdue.

STOP.

Have you read Eat. Pray. Love? What did you think of it?

This entry was posted in inspiration & selfhood, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eat. Pray.Love

  1. Jessica says:

    I didn’t read it, but I saw part of the movie and was just bored by it. But I think that has to do with my issues than with my immaturity. I was one of those people who would read 500 page books in a day for fun! Now, it’s a struggle for me. But I’m working to it again

  2. I have not read it and the movie did not keep my attention at all. Books are always better though so I will be adding it to my list.

  3. Only You says:

    I did read most of it…like you, I picked it up and then put it down! And for the life of me I can’t remember what I thought of it…I liked the whole idea of her going out to “find” herself through international travel but I was turned off a bit when I learned that she was given a major advance by her publishing company to take the trip. It colored the way I read her story, as it’s different from if she’d written it after really quitting her job. I didn’t like the movie and also didn’t finish it.

    Cecilia

  4. Rose's Daughter says:

    It took me a year to get through the book. I stayed in the first chapter for 11 months and then one day, I pushed through it! I actually really did like it once I got into it. I still haven’t seen the movie.

Come on, join in the fun!

