morning writing

I never write here in the morning and I’m not sure why. Wait. I do know why. I started once and then got so distracted with children waking and the impending need to actually start my day with something productive that I stopped writing here…in the morning.

But I think I may start again, or I need to start again because nights have now become hit or miss for me. There’s this thing I’ve been doing, perhaps you’ve heard of it…it’s called “sleep.” Yes. That’s what I’ve been doing every night at around 10 pm. I do no later because in my commitment to listening to my body, this is when my body says I need to go to sleep.

So, I do go to sleep then. Oh, and speaking of listening to your body. Once you start, you really can’t stop. Or, you can stop…but it’s hard. It’s hard to eat chocolate when your body is yelling at you to go to sleep. It’s hard to write on a blog when your body is yelling at you to stare at a wall because you’re exhausted and need silence and clear thoughts.

I did, at one time, for a long time, do all of the above things. I did ignore my body in order to get “important” things done. But then I realized. What can be more important than how you are feeling? So, right now, at this moment. I felt like writing and no one else is awake. So I decided to write. Hmm. And if I’m lucky, I will feel like this and my girls will sleep in past 6 am again tomorrow.

We’ll see.

STOP.

If you are a blogger, do you write in the morning or at night? What can explain your preference?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to morning writing

  1. I tried for 12 midnight to hit my bed knowing that I have to be up at 6 to get kids ready for school. I must do better and be in bed by 11 it’s just so hard for me to leave things undone. I like to have emails cleared and blog readers empty before I retire.

    • Jessica says:

      I know! I used to be that exact same way! Now, I often just ignore things and go to sleep. I usually don’t feel bad about this, or not like I used to. I just wish I had more time to sleep and do everything else!

  2. Only You says:

    I really like the idea of your potentially new morning routine, Jessica. I have heard of a number of mom writers who say they get up at 4, before their families get up, in order to get some writing done. I personally can’t write at night because my brain doesn’t work too well then, and I spend so much time that I know I will just end up staying up too late. I write in the mornings, but then my kid is in school so it is a lot easier for me to do this. A 10 pm sleep time is *healthy* and I hope this early routine works for you!

    Cecilia

    • Jessica says:

      Thanks, Cecilia. I did, for a VERY short time, wake up at 4 am to exercise and do writing. But even then, I was still sleeping very late in the night…and my youngest was an infant and waking three times a night! It was horrible, but I got by, I think, by eating poorly and the adrenaline rush that came with having a BIG life online. I can no longer do that early or that late, or as late as I used to make my nights, so I’ve been stuck just doing what I can, when I can. It sounds so quaint, but, at least for now, I think this is the best I can do. 🙂 I think when my kids go to school and predictably need me less, things will change. Or, that’s what I’m “banking” on when I imagine having a real career in writing some day in the future. 🙂

Come on, join in the fun!

