A Writer Who Writes

When I started this blog, I had one goal in mind: To become the writer in real life that I said I should be in my head. There’s always been a disconnect for me. Somehow, between my life in academia and my professional career that skirted around the title I wanted, I avoided becoming or being that person I always wanted to become, or be.

The Internet, while bad for a lot of things, I think, is what introduced me to the possibility that I could indeed be a writer. I saw, through many a late night spent on Twitter or blogs from other women who like me became mothers and then aspired to write, that I could do this, that the path to get from point a to point b wouldn’t be as hard as I thought it always was.

But that’s the kind. It still was hard. Even with the Internet and access to all the “writer” opportunities and “tips” in the world, I still found it hard to do the very things I had been avoiding, the things that would have made me a writer. I didn’t want to put myself “out there,” whatever that means, nor did I want to really put my ego on the line. But to be a writer, you must do these things. You must put yourself out there and wait and pitch and be vulnerable and be held up to criticism. And in the end, the good ones, the ones who make it in this profession, get used to this, or as used to this as one possibly can.

I have a minute left and haven’t said much, but the point is that this blog has meant much to my journey as a writer. And while I’ve thought to abandon it and write on my official blog, I’ve decided to keep it. I will write here because I love it here. So, I’m sorry for being away for so long. I lost my domain name, but I’m still here.

STOP.

How have you all been? Have I missed much? I plan to spend most of today reading your blogs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Writer Who Writes

  1. Cecilia says:

    So glad you’ve decided to keep this blog! And I really relate to what you wrote here…I’m not doing enough to become a writer either. I write in my blog – or, rather, I finally got back into my blog – but I’m not doing any more beyond that…not working hard on essays to send out, not taking classes, etc. I feel that my only excuse is that I’m lazy. At the moment I’m not willing to go that extra mile and I am asking myself if that is okay, or if there is something wrong with that…

    But it’s always easier to give “advice” to others than to know what to do myself ;-), so I’ll just say to you, Jessica, that you’ve got a lot going on! Just work here when the urge hits you and see where it takes you 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    Thanks, Cecilia! I am happy I kept it, too! I like how it feels when I write here. Thank you for the wonderful advice. I do have a lot going on, so like you say, I have to just do this when I can.

Come on, join in the fun!

